FWC The Beach

Post all your stories, poems, and haiku's here!

Moderator: Moderators

Vallis

FWC The Beach

#1 Post by Vallis »

I'm totally about to lose.
Sorry about ugly formatting. It was nice and pretty in a Word doc. I'm not good with formatting on forums. :P

The Beach
My beach was the only home I’d ever known.

I would sometimes seem to remember a time before the beach. But I could never tell if it was real or just a dream. Then again, nothing on my beach seemed real, nor did anything on the beach seem like a dream. It was a surreal place of my own where time failed to flow.

It was always dark on my beach. It always was dark, and always would be. The sky was pitch black. The sun never rose. The moon never appeared. The stars, if there were any, were always hidden. The wind never blew. The ocean was always still. It was always cold on my beach. There was a lighthouse on the far edge of the beach. But it never shined. Because of that, I started calling it the darkhouse. What good was a lighthouse without a light?

Each day was the same. I’d wake up, work on my sandcastle until I was sleepy, and then went to sleep. I had no friends to talk to. No mommy. No daddy. All ten years of my life had been the same way. At least, I think it’s been that way. But I always did what I wanted to do. Whenever I wanted to do it. For the most part, anyway. But it almost didn’t matter to me, because I was alone. Alone and sad.