Car questions you have but are afraid to ask...

For tech wizards and n00bs alike. Questions, answers, or just general hoo-haa.

Moderator: Moderators

lucky
Apprentice

Car questions you have but are afraid to ask...

#1 Post by lucky »

Ok no matter how stupid it may sound ask away. I have been tinkering with cars since 1998( Wow ten years... that makes me feel old. and im only 23)
Go for it. I wont laugh.

I know the basics and a little perf. stuff.

KitWiz4687
Merchant

Re: Car questions you have but are afraid to ask...

#2 Post by KitWiz4687 »

have you ever seen the inside of a CVT transmission? I've always wanted to know what the kind used on a vehicle look like...
For those of you who have no idea what kind of transmission that is I can give a breif description. CVT stands for Continuously Variable Transmission, it is capable of shifting the gear ratio fluidly as it trades off speed for power based on the amount of resistance against its output. The simplest way to imagine it is it being a gear on a shaft that can change the number of teeth on itself as needed to transfer rotational energy to the wheels with as little waste as possible, anyone who has fiddled around with simple gears know that the more teeth the source gear has, the faster the output gear will turn and vice-versa.
Please click my dragons to help them grow =^-^=

epion04
Templar GrandMaster

#3 Post by epion04 »

My avatar is the result of arting for the first time in 8 years... not bad I believe ^_^
clock.exe has preformed an illegal error, time has stopped. Please restart the universe.
I FAILED KINDERGARTEN SPELLING!!!>_<

lucky
Apprentice

#4 Post by lucky »

Wow someone beat me to it.
Good job. :mrgreen:

epion04
Templar GrandMaster

#5 Post by epion04 »

So, I was bored today and began to wonder, what is YOUR preferred intake and/or exhaust?
This is brought up being I am currently in the market for an intake/exhaust upgrade for my current truck.