Whats Your Setup?

For tech wizards and n00bs alike. Questions, answers, or just general hoo-haa.
Message
Author
User avatar
Grand Templar
Posts: 1599
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:27 pm
Location: The Lowcountry

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#16 Post by Ryusen » Sat Aug 24, 2013 9:17 pm

Maybe a bit of a necropost, but I have an update to my setup that I want to show off post. I've added a third monitor, a second GTX670, and a new table to hold them. I mainly wanted to try out triple-monitor gamine (5760 x 1080) with high graphics, but that's proven to be a little difficult. There are a few games that support those resolutions, but many of the games in my library (especially pre-2011 games) tend to have little or no support. There are unofficial patches and work-arounds for some of them, but there just isn't enough call for many developers to make these games available for higher resolutions.

Overall, I would say that a single-monitor gaming setup is still the easiest and simplest way to game. Two monitors is great for multi-tasking, but I just haven't found a use for that third monitor outside of the rare game that accepts it. I've had good luck with WoW, Minecraft, and TF2. Skyrim and the Fallout games are ... iffy. There are some work-arounds, but they involve a fair amount of work. If I had to do it over again, I would not bother to buy a third monitor. When you can actually use it, it is very nice to have, and the peripheral vision it offers really draws you into the game (The side monitors do not have much going on, but simply act as peripheral vision for you to switch to quickly). It's a nice luxury, but not one that I'll be repeating.

It's heavily implied that SLI is required for these kinds of setups. Though Nvidia tends to have less performance at these resolutions that AMD, I still find the experience enjoyable. SLI 670's are a huge powerhouse, certainly more than enough to play any modern game at 1920x1080 at Ultra with a consistant 60+ FPS. I am usually able to get at or above 60fps at 5760x1080 in games that support it (WoW, Minecraft, TF2, etc.), though not all games do. I only get about 20fps in Planetside 2, though that game is notorious for having abysmal optimization. Others just don't align properly and prevent immersive gameplay (Skyrim, Fallout).

Picture: http://i.imgur.com/G7r6NZm.jpg

My rig as it stands now:

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core (OC'd to 4.5GHz @ 1.27v)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 69.7 CFM Rifle Bearing
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH Z77 ATX LGA1155
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1333
Storage: Crucial M4 256GB 2.5" SSD & Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM
Video Card: 2x EVGA GeForce GTX 670 FTW 2GB (SLI)
Case: Cooler Master HAF X ATX Full Tower
Power Supply: SeaSonic 850W ATX12V / EPS12V
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer
Monitor: Asus VH236H 23.0" & Asus VH236H 23.0" & Asus VH238H 23.0:
Custom: Schiit Asgard 2
Schiit Bifrost
PYST RCA Cables
Sennheiser HD650 Headphones
Man can live 30 days without food, 4 days without water, and 8 minutes without air. But man cannot live a single second without hope.

User avatar
Apprentice
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 9:23 pm
Location: Filling the skies with burning wreckage from my doomed plane

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#17 Post by DragonTamer1 » Sun Aug 25, 2013 8:02 pm

Depends on the computer you are talking about. The one that I'm using now is... well... here's a pic of it.

Image

It's an ancient computer but I got paid $50 to take it away. Got it working in an hour (had over 1,000 registry errors) and I haven't had any issues with it since. I can run my editor (GIMP) on it and the internet as well as a few CAD programs. While it's not the best, it works just fine for what I need (I'll also never complain about a computer being slow again).

My other computer is getting old so it's specs aren't really impressive. When I get the chance I will check it and post it's specs.

User avatar
New Citizen
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 1:12 am
Location: Prokhorovka 1943

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#18 Post by TigerWOT » Wed Feb 12, 2014 11:29 pm

Mine is quite [censored] right now as I am building one with EVGA 770 4gb and i5 4670k
Hp Compaq 7600
http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/images/e ... 90x170.jpg
Pentium 4 3.4 GHZ
4 gb corsair memory
240 W power supply
500gb hard drive
128gb ssd
Asus Radeon 6450 1gb
Barely holds up so yea.
Image
All can fight

User avatar
Templar Inner Circle
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:16 pm
Location: 不滅の神天皇の名の下に殺しグリーン大群の真ん中に!
Contact:

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#19 Post by SirSlaughter » Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:40 am

seeing as the post got a little bit of life I may as well update.
I got a new Graphics unit a little while back: GTX770 I finally got a nice updated pic.

Next up I updated my entire desk area...well half of it for now. I need more carbon fiber vinyl to finish off the rest, but here it is: https://scontent-b-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hph ... 6560_o.jpg

I also managed to get another computer running that's awaiting a RAM and HDD upgrade: https://scontent-b-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hph ... 2960_o.jpg

Hopefully I can finish those off so I can focus on my car for this year.

User avatar
The Imagineer
Posts: 1508
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: An infinite sea of salt

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#20 Post by Myperson54 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:53 am

SirSlaughter wrote:seeing as the post got a little bit of life I may as well update.
I got a new Graphics unit a little while back: GTX770 I finally got a nice updated pic.

Next up I updated my entire desk area...well half of it for now. I need more carbon fiber vinyl to finish off the rest, but here it is: https://scontent-b-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hph ... 6560_o.jpg

I also managed to get another computer running that's awaiting a RAM and HDD upgrade: https://scontent-b-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hph ... 2960_o.jpg

Hopefully I can finish those off so I can focus on my car for this year.
Gah, I can't get over how your Zotac card matches almost perfectly with the Prodigy's orange! I would almost look better if you modified the Prodigy to have a window, cause it looks so damn nice inside!

Also, nice drum kit. :D
Image

I am become salt, destroyer of memes

Join the Unofficial 2k Discord Channel!

User avatar
Templar Inner Circle
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:16 pm
Location: 不滅の神天皇の名の下に殺しグリーン大群の真ん中に!
Contact:

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#21 Post by SirSlaughter » Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:55 am

Myperson54 wrote:
SirSlaughter wrote:seeing as the post got a little bit of life I may as well update.
I got a new Graphics unit a little while back: GTX770 I finally got a nice updated pic.

Next up I updated my entire desk area...well half of it for now. I need more carbon fiber vinyl to finish off the rest, but here it is: https://scontent-b-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hph ... 6560_o.jpg

I also managed to get another computer running that's awaiting a RAM and HDD upgrade: https://scontent-b-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hph ... 2960_o.jpg

Hopefully I can finish those off so I can focus on my car for this year.
Gah, I can't get over how your Zotac card matches almost perfectly with the Prodigy's orange! I would almost look better if you modified the Prodigy to have a window, cause it looks so damn nice inside!

Also, nice drum kit. :D

They actually make a window side panel for that case. I think it was around $20 so If I wanted I could totally go for it. I might seeing as I'm making it a permanent addition to the family.

User avatar
Apprentice
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:54 am

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#22 Post by Colt45ws » Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:50 pm

My main rig is Winter:
Cooler Master HAF 932
Cooler Master UCP 900W (80+ Silver)
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
Intel Core i7 980X 3.33GHz (@4.01GHz) (Gulftown)
Prolimatech Megahalems with 2x 120mm fans in push/pull
3x Mushkin Redline 4GB DDR3-1600
2x AMD Radeon HD6950 2GB [Crossfire] (BIOS Modded, 6970 shaders, 6950 clocks)
NEC USB 3.0 PCIe card
Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Platinum PCIe (upgraded output opamps/capacitors)
Adaptec 6805 PCIe hardware RAID controller w/ backup module
* 5x Samsung F3R 1TB (RAID 5e) [Storage] 2.7TB usable
* 2x Toshiba MG03ACA300 3TB (RAID 1) [Bulk Storage] 2.7TB usable
Samsung 830 256GB SSD [OS]
10X LG BluRay burner
Windows 7 Professional x86_64
Dell U2713HM 27" LCD [Primary]
NEC LCD2470WNX 24"LCD [Secondary]

My server is Dash:
Dell PowerEdge SC1430
2x Dual core Intel Xeon 5148 2.33GHz (Woodcrest)
4x Kingston 2GB DDR2-667 FB-DIMM
2x Hitachi Deskstar 400GB (RAID 1)
10X DVD-ROM
Hardened Gentoo Linux x86_64

My laptop is Luna:
Lenovo T500
Intel Core 2 Duo T9400 2.53GHz (Penryn)
2x GSkill 4GB DDR3-1066 SO-DIMM
ATi Mobility Radeon HD3650
WD Scorpio Black 500GB
Windows 7 Professional x86_64

My router is Sarah:
Antec ISK110 (has 80W DC-DC power supply and 90W 19V power brick)
MSI Fuzzy RS690T MiniITX (improved MOSFET & chipset cooling)
Athlon X2 4450B 2.3GHz (Brisbane)
2x hynix 2GB DDR2-667 SO-DIMM
Fujitsu MHW2120BH 120GB 2.5" (Requisitioned from an Xbox 360, lol)
Hardened Gentoo Linux x86_64
-Colton
Image

User avatar
Templar Inner Circle
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:16 pm
Location: 不滅の神天皇の名の下に殺しグリーン大群の真ん中に!
Contact:

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#23 Post by SirSlaughter » Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:54 pm

I'm gonna revive this thread with my awesome Wizard-Necropost powers.

I decided that Adelaide could use a bigger case as she is the biggest and baddest King there ever was.
I got an Antec Nineteenhundred case in black and green. From an NZXT Phantom to an Antec. Odd transition. But I will see if this is gonna be permanent. If not I've got my phantom I will keep on hand just in case.

But here are a few pics(linked due to size)

https://scontent-b-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hph ... 3033_o.jpg
https://scontent-b-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hph ... 6777_n.jpg
https://scontent-a-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hph ... 6444_o.jpg (you can see the RAID controller good here)
https://scontent-a-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hph ... 2286_o.jpg
https://scontent-a-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hph ... 8174_o.jpg

I plan to move the power supply to the lower section when I acquire some extensions. I will sleeve the cables as well with some black and green so it looks really good and clean. I also plan to put in 2 more fans where the HDDs are, I just need a larger power supply as I have used every single plug it has. So I know I am using every little bit of power this thing can offer (well maybe not all but a lot of it). From there I need more HDDs. Why? Because look at the empty trays waiting for HDDs.

Then from there I need a new Full ATX motherboard as a micro ATX in a case like this is just silly. And then I need some new lighting setup. my last case was just insane amounts of green. I plan to repeat but with better balance. Maybe a UV light or 2 with some reactive materials. No Blue LEDs, UV is best. I have one lying about inside of a server so I'll probably just scoop that one up. But this is all for later when things get better. I'm actually running off of a lot of old and used HDDs like some 80GBs are in there as well as 2 250GB in RAID-1 (once I set it up).

EDIT: It just occured to me I never posted the finished product for what my desk now looks like.
https://scontent-b-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hph ... 6095_o.jpg

User avatar
Master
Posts: 303
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:29 pm
Location: England, Bristol.
Contact:

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#24 Post by Conal » Thu Aug 14, 2014 5:51 am

Image

User avatar
Templar Master
Posts: 488
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:32 pm
Location: Neitherlands
Contact:

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#25 Post by Neutral Smith » Wed Sep 03, 2014 8:31 pm

Until last week:
* Asus P5WD2-premium WiFi/TV
* Pentium D935
* 2GB memory
* Asus GeForce GTX460 graphics card
* 4x 500GB SATA disks in RAID 10
* 4x 500GB ATA disks, every disk it's own partition.
Almost 8 years old (most parts: case, mainboard, memory and CPU), worked perfectly, except that Windows XP ended the support.

Now:
* Asus Z97-Deluxe
* Intel Core i7 4790K
* Asus GTX780Ti
* 2x 8GB PC2400 memory
* 500GB Samsung 840EVO SSD

Things I haven't changed (yet):
* Cooler Master Stacker STC-101 (black) (won't change this, I like this case)
* Antec SilentPower 850W
* Samsung SyncMaster 215TW
* Logitech Z5500 (Hello neighbours :twisted: )
* Logitech G15 'blue'
* Logitech MX518

Things I will change if I have some money to spend again so many things I want to buy, like a http://www.neatorobotics.com/robot-vacu ... botvac-85/ :
* More memory. 2 banks are not occupied :mrgreen:
* Second graphics card for SLI, new series comes in December I thought, so prices will drop.
* Graphics card needs a new PSU, I want to have some 'room' in power. And I need this PSU in an other computer. (where the old stuff goes to, with Ubuntu as the new OS)
* More 'normal' hard disks, I have 10TB in my NAS, but 500GB local space is not enough.

But I can say that I am a very lucky man :D :grin:
What I use this computer for? Browsing, Casual gaming, and I don't like change, so it will get very old again in this setup. (and still nothing to be ashamed of in 5 years)
If it moves but shouldn't: Duct tape. If it doesn't move but should: WD-40. With a hammer everything fits, and if it still doesn't fit: bigger hammer. If it can't be fixed with a hammer it's an electrical problem.

User avatar
Citizen
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 10:21 pm
Location: I honestly have no idea anymore.
Contact:

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#26 Post by JC the Supreme Tiger » Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:12 am

Here's what I got:

Desktop:
Case: Some cheap one from fry's with some LEDs.
Motherboard: MSI MS-7640 "Military Grade"
Power Supply: CoolMax NW-650B 650W
CPU: AMD FX-8650 8-core processor
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7870
16 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 120GB
Western Digital HDD 1TB
ATI Theater TV Tuner
Samsung 210T Monitor
Samsung 240T monitor

Peripherals:
Really old logitech keyboard
Wireless Mouse
3Dconnexxion spacenavigator 3d mouse
Prusa Mendel I3 3D Printer
HP Deskjet 460 Series printer

Laptop: ASUS N56DP w/ AMD A10 quad-core CPU

Picture of whole setup
Close-up of 3d printer
Close-up of desktop case.
Lurk moar; it's never enough.

User avatar
Apprentice
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 9:46 am
Location: More interesting places

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#27 Post by Bachaddict » Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:21 am

I'm sitting here with an Acer Aspire One netbook with doubled RAM (to 2GB), an old HP monitor, an old HP keyboard and an unbranded Bluetooth mouse :)
Specs:
Intel Atom N2600 1.6 GHz Dual-core with hyperthreading
Intel GMA 3600 graphics.
Windows 7 Professional + Linux Mint 17. If I ever need to use Linux regularly I'll have to go back to Ubuntu 12.04 in order to have graphics drivers.
It's enough to play Portal and Portal 2 (just).
Garry's Mod runs alright, but takes forever to load.
|This box is too sm|

User avatar
Overlord of Space & Time
Posts: 1465
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:32 am
Location: Somewhere between life, death, and a grilled cheese sandwich.

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#28 Post by DarkTheImmortal » Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:09 am

Pretty basic
HP Pavilion Laptop
Processor: Intel Core i3-4000M CPU @ 2.40GHz
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 4600 (1792MB)
RAM: 6 GB
Windows 8.1

Extra:
Standard ONN Mouse
Logitech Gamepad F310

It runs Skyrim perfectly on low, to get a sense. My old laptop had trouble running Skyrim on the absolute lowest settings imaginable, so I think you get an idea on how I like this new one.

I have a dream computer, but I won't post the specs here for space, and since I don't have it yet, therefore it's not MY setup.

User avatar
Citizen
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:38 pm
Location: Wishing I was in Twokinds

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#29 Post by Weathermanthey » Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:53 pm

My setup is only about a year and three months old:
CPU: Intel i5 3570k (Overclocked to 4.2GHz)
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LK
GPU: ASUS Radeon HD 7790 (I would have prefered to get a Nvidia, but the one I was looking at was sold out)
RAM: Corsair Vengeance - 8GB
Power Supply: Rosewill Hive 750W
Windows 7
1.5 TB of Hard Drive Space (Seagate)

Extra:
Corsair Vengeance M95 Mouse
Logitech G27 Racing Wheel
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Templar Inner Circle
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:16 pm
Location: 不滅の神天皇の名の下に殺しグリーン大群の真ん中に!
Contact:

Re: Whats Your Setup?

#30 Post by SirSlaughter » Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:12 pm

I always forget about this thread, then someone revives it and I can't help but post as well:

NEW CASE AND MORE SCREEN!
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/ ... 21a9bc5976
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/ ... be81e4687a

Upgrades
I also upgraded to the Kraken X41 cooler.
NZXT Phantom 820 Gunmetal
added another graphics card to allow more monitors. (When I get more than 4)
TP-Link wireless card (PCI-e)
Re-Added my HP 2311X monitor
I also re-added my Saitek X52 Pro flight stick


Then if something horrible happens, I always have my backup PC:
https://scontent-b-dfw.xx.fbcdn.net/hph ... 2960_o.jpg
(Which is also in line for a new SSD upgrade from a 120 to a 250GB)

Post Reply