Getting a new laptop

For tech wizards and n00bs alike. Questions, answers, or just general hoo-haa.

Moderator: Moderators

sombre acorn
Apprentice

Getting a new laptop

#1 Post by sombre acorn »

So I'm getting a new laptop before I head off to college and I was wondering if I could get some help cause I'm pretty new to this stuff. I'll mostly be using it for school stuff but I'd like something that can play higher end games either on steam one's I buy. Also I do have a lot of music so something that can work with that.
Any help you guys can give would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

RobbieThe1st
Templar GrandMaster

Re: Getting a new laptop

#2 Post by RobbieThe1st »

Quite a few people go through this each year, let me just give you a few tips:
If you have space for a desktop, GET ONE. Laptops are /not/ designed for gaming, even "gaming" ones: They are seriously underpowered compared to what you could get in a low-end desktop, get hot and loud, and when /not/ gaming your battery life is horrible.
If you can use a desktop for most of your gaming, you can get away with a light Netbook for your notes/web browsing in class - It's generally the way to go, as they can easily have 4-8 hours battery life; No need to plug in during most classes. Alternately, a high-end Android tablet can do much the same job(with a bluetooth keyboard) and have even /better/ battery life.

If you can't use a desktop, be aware of how much battery life and how noisy your potential machine is: You really /don't/ want to be gaming on a machine that's screaming like a jet engine. You're going to /need/ to make sure that any machine has a Nvidia or ATI /dedicated/ graphics card: Intel just doesn't cut it for newer games(Runescape, sure, on mid settings. CoD? No)